The Miss Adventures of Miss Bratty Pants

Settling In

_MG_4286

A few days after I met Dr. Nicole, I was munching on some hay, enjoying the warmth of the sun on my back, when suddenly I couldn’t move my head. I tried to pull my head up, but my halter was caught on the hay feeder. I pulled and twisted my head and yanked as hard as I could, but I couldn’t get free. I was starting to panic as Mr. Mike came to my rescue. The girls that belong to Indy and Lady had seen my distress and had gone to fetch him. (After that, I no longer had to wear my halter in the paddock). I was bleeding quite a lot and my cheek and jaw hurt. Auntie Lees took me into my stall and kept cold cloths on my cheek until the bleeding stopped. The next day Mom came in to see me and clean my cheek. She had a couple of large bottles in her hands that she called medicine… I don’t know what that is, but I think it’s just a fancy name that means “the funny tasting, white crunchy bits” that mom tried to hide in my apple sauce and grain. I didn’t like them at all, so I ate around them. Then Mom started sticking them inside apples. She thought she outsmarted me, but I knew they were there. I just couldn’t be bothered to pick them out. Sometimes it’s good to let Mom think she won. It seems to make her happy. And thus ended my first week in my new home. I was starting to settle in to a familiar routine with new friends.

Leave a Reply

