Andrea Brewing Photography

My Girl, Savi

_MG_4522

I brought Savi home at the end of August 2015  and from that first day  I spent a lot of time out in the riding ring with her, just grooming her and making her look pretty.  My friend said she thought that I got her just so I could brush her hair. There may be some truth in that statement!

As the weather cooled, I started taking Savi into the barn and putting her in the cross ties.  That was where my calm horse turned into a bundle of nerves, side stepping and fidgeting.  Looking for advice, I posted a query on an on-line horse forum.  The responses I received surprised me.  They were not what I had hoped for at all.  Instead of offerings of advice and encouragement, I was told that she was not the horse for me and I should get rid of her… Green+Green=Black & Blue. From the moment I saw the photos of Savi on that Facebook ad, I knew she was my girl. Giving up on her… on us… was not something I was going to consider.  I like to believe that I am someone who thinks things through very carefully with a calculating mind, weighing out the good and the bad, but it has become obvious to me that I think with my heart… and my heart wanted her.

I started riding Savi last fall, but after some discussions with a friend, I realized that I had not spent the proper time getting to know my girl or letting her get to know me.  So I put riding on the back burner.  After all, I had waited most of my life to have her, what was a little more time waiting to get in the saddle.  I made a promise to my husband that I would spend only two evenings a week and one afternoon on the weekend up at the barn and the rest of the time with my family.  For some odd reason, they seem to want to spend time with me.  So I made the most of my time with my girl, even on some of the coldest evenings in the winter.  I spent time just leading her around the riding ring, took her for walks outside the gate in the “wilds of the park” with my friend and her horse and we spent time in the barn trying to learn some barn manners.  We are still working on those.  Some nights I would go up and stand along the fence just to watch her eat.  She would always come over to see me, check my pockets for carrots and then return to her hay, but I would catch her glancing over her shoulder to make sure I was still there watching her. Other nights, I would go into the enclosure with her and scratch her neck while she ate. One occasion I had gone it to take a photo of her, but I had to stop to clean my camera lens. When I looked up, there she was, standing right in front of me.  My heart skipped a beat when she turned to follow me as I walked away.  Not only is she mine… she has acknowledged that I am hers.

My girl and I have come a long way in the 7 months we have know each other, but we still have a long way to go.  She is  not a cuddly girl just yet, but she does spend more time along the fence with me, nose to nose, just breathing softly on my face.  She melts my heart.

I have gained a lot of confidence in myself over the winter months and in doing so have begun to earn the trust of the most magnificent animal on the earth… my girl, Savi.

 

1 thought on “My Girl, Savi”

Leave a Reply

