Andrea Brewing Photography

A New Beginning

_MG_4437-Edit
Week 1 Photo Challenge

 

It has been over a year since I have published anything on my blog.  I would like to get back into writing again. I enjoy it, but I have felt that I have little to offer to the world, no pearls of wisdom, no epiphanies, nothing of interest.  It seems in many ways my passions, my hobbies, my very existence has lost is luster.  I feel overwhelmed, under appreciated and uninspired.

This is a new year, so with this new beginning, I hope to once again find myself.  My camera and I no longer take the excursions we used to enjoy together. So with that in mind, I have decided to take on a 52 week photo challenge and chronicle it in my blog.  As you may have guessed, week 1 is a selfie.

This photo is a likeness of myself.  It has been photo-shopped to remove wrinkles, blemishes and worry lines.  I have not done this to try to hide from my 50 years of age.  I am proud of my life experience and do not try to deny it.  I wear my silver hair with pride, like a badge of honour, alluding to a life of love, laughter, loss, times of feeling adrift, times of walking away from pain, times of conquoring great challenges.

When I took this photo, my mood was very subdued, almost lost and lonely so I chose to keep this image simple.  That simplicity shows the emptiness I feel, but the pose is meant to show that there is hope within.  By removing the blemishes, I have essentially  started with a clean slate, free to rediscover myself, rekindle the fire, and to boldly go where no one has gone before.

2 thoughts on “A New Beginning”

  1. Can’t wait to see more of your challenge, I’ll be following your blog from now on ☺️ You did a wonderful job retouching!

  2. Hiya Andrea! Randy here! We’ve never met…and realistically…we probably never will. Still…there’s a closeness here. We share a love of using our cameras to seek and show beauty wherever we find it. We also share a little bit of self-doubt…perhaps just a smidge of insecurity. Tell ya what…Let’s both try to shake a bit of that off in this new year. To hopefully give you a little shove let me just say this….I really enjoy your photography. It truly is inspiring…I tell my photography friends here where I live that the very highest compliment that I can give them is to look at one of their pictures and say….”I wish I’d taken that.” Well Lady…there are many of your pictures that I wish I’d taken! Keep the Faith….Keep on Clicking and Sharing……..and keep on writing!

Leave a Reply

